Gaming

Predator is now available for Mortal Kombat- hopefully Alien in the future

I was delighted to find out that the famous horror movie character, Predator was going to be available to play in Mortal Kombat X. Considering he and Jason Voorhees are in this latest franchise, I’m hopeful that other notorious characters such as Alien or Leatherface will appear in later versions. Imagine Alien vs Predator in Mortal Kombat- it could be brilliantly fun.

At the moment, Predator is only available through the Kombat pack, which costs no less than £24.99 and has four characters: Jason, Predator, Tanya and Tremor. I was about to play the game on Saturday when I saw Predator was available. I was pleasantly surprised because I wasn’t expecting it until July 14. I was ready to immediately pay the £3.99, which was the price I paid for Jason until I saw it for £24.99. I believe you’ll be able to buy just Predator tomorrow- I may be completely wrong with that. Fingers crossed at least.

Will we see a return of the classic battle in MK? Hopefully! Photo ‘Teymur Madjderey’ via Flickr.

I was excited to see Predator in the game because it’s not what you’d expect from Mortal Kombat. Of course, there are the traditional characters such as Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Jax etc. and they’ve added new ones to each game. However you don’t expect them to bring in characters from films into them. We saw it with Freddy Krueger in the last game but I thought that was just a one-off.

That’s the reason I was excited for both Jason and Predator. Less excited for Jason because Predator’s weapon capabilities are far superior. Predator has his sword, his circular blade and his tracking beam/weapon-thing on his shoulder. Plus he can go near invisible. With Jason, it’s basically his huge machete knife and that’s about it. I was happy to see the game developers trying to give him more special moves. For example, he can teleport and he has a mode called ‘Pursuit’ where temporarily the opponent can not dash or run and their controls are reversed. Just like all those teens in the Friday the 13th movies.

Back to Predator, I’ve seen a few gameplay videos of him and he does look like a good character in terms of his special moves and combos. Although it doesn’t seem like going near invisible is one of his moves. Maybe I just haven’t seen it but it’d be a shame if that weren’t included- even if he goes invisible temporarily.

Jason and Freddy Krueger have made appearances in MK, is Leatherface to follow? Photo ‘Boogeyman13’ via Flickr.

Because he and Jason have been included in the latest Mortal Kombat franchise, it doesn’t seem out of the question for Alien to make an appearance in the future. I highly doubt it’ll be in this Mortal Kombat, maybe Mortal Kombat XI? It would be fantastic to see Alien vs Predator as a fight in Mortal Kombat. Of course it’s not the first time they’ve been in games together. I remember having on the PS3, ‘Aliens vs Predator’, which was a first person shooter and you could choose to be the alien, Predator or a human. However, it would be so much better as a Mortal Kombat fight.

I’ll keep my hopes up on any future character surprises we may see with Mortal Kombat X and future versions. But they’ve definitely added something extra to a game I’ve always loved anyway.

Leave a Reply

